It was forty years ago

Not exactly forty, in that it was not today forty years ago. And not exactly forty in that it was the mid 1980s when I laid these slate tiles in Mother-in-law's home.

Not having had any experience in laying any tiles, let alone slate tiles, I volunteered to lay the tiles she had chosen. I learned that the first task is to lay scrim on the floor and then cover it with a waterproof resin of some sort. To allow the tiles something to adhere to and not cause damage to the wood beneath.

I chose to start in the bathroom. At the time I quickly became convinced I should never have started. Not being particularly flexible, fitting tiles around the bas of bath was a big challenge. In retrospect it was the best place to start, I learned all the tricks I needed to lay the tiles out in the open areas. 

The slate tile floor has lasted almost 40 years. It has to be removed due to water damage of the floor beneath the tiles when the bathroom pipes sprang a leak recently. Fortunately S' younger brother B and his wife were over from Melbourne and able to limit the damage. Nevertheless, expert advice was (a) the floor was never meant to take the weight of a slate tile floor, and (b) to repair the floor it is necessary to remove the tiles.

I have been allowed to have some of the tiles to use outside in a BBQ area at the Titirangi house. Like Sergeant Pepper and his band, I expect I'll be able to do again what I did back then. Only outside, this time.

The extra for today is posted because it was taken while on a jog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.