But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Blind School.

The blue plaque reads:

"Bristol Royal Blind Asylum or School of Industry for the Blind.
1793-1968
Originally situated in the centre of Bristol, it was one of the oldest institutions for the blind in the world and accepted pupils from all over the country. Work started on the new school on this site in 1909 and it opened in 1911. Declining numbers led to the closure of the school in 1968 and the building was demolished in 1971. This plaque was erected by the former pupils of the school."


I'm not sure that one erects plaques, one more sort of mounts them and if the pupils really did fix it to the wall, that may account for it being a bit squint.

When I was a child, this housing estate was occupied by a magnificent building in a large parkland full of wonderful old trees. I find it something of a travesty that the green space and historic school were destroyed to make way for this housing estate.
I used to go carol singing and take the proceeds up to the front door and hand it in, they even gave me a receipt. I must have been a virtuous little sod.
I remember sitting on the boundary wall watching the boys playing football in the playground, the "ball" was a tin containing stones while my sister visited as a girl guide, for various activities, and noted that the girls didn't need a torch for reading under the bedclothes.

I'm sure Peter White was a pupil there before moving on to secondary education at Worcester College for the Blind.

I have to admit to cheating a little here. While I was preparing for the shot, the blind couple with their dogs walked down past the houses, I quickly grabbed a picture of them and pasted them into the main photo; also the plaque was not quite in the right place ...... maybe that's why it isn't straight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.