Tough as old Boots

Sempervivum, House Leeks, almost indestructible.   Here growing in a dry corner of my sandy raised bed.    

I wish new boots - and  shoes - were tougher.   I bought two new pairs of shoes in the spring and both have holes in the heels already,  the better pair worn right through in one place.   I guess I do a lot more walking these days but  I'm more than disappointed.   I've heard it said that the poor lose out paying less for badly made shoes which don't last.  I'll  be paying a lot more for the next pair and looking for something with a solid heel after these 'cushioned' soles proved to be synonymous with 'soft and very thin indeed.'   

Shoe rant apart :-)  it's been a lovely day.   Black clouds inland but blue skies and sunshine along the coast until mid evening.   After a day of tidying and cleaning (!) I took Jamie to Machynlleth where he met and joined Clara's train as she arrived for her holiday,  sharing the scenic ride around the coast to Tywyn.   I foresee a happy few days ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.