LARCH COTTAGE NURSERIES

I had planned on taking G to Manjushri this morning,  for a walk and a light lunch.  Luckily I checked the website about covid measures before I went and found out that they're actually closed to the public now until 16th August *sgh*.  I'd forgotten they usually do this, so that put paid to that.

Then I thought "Larch Cottage Nurseries" (not far from  Lowther Castle, just below Penrith) and I haven't been there since before lockdown.  I knew they still have good covid measures in place as I follow their Facebook page.  However when I suggested this, Hubby was wanting to paint our little entrance area and G decided he didn't want to go that far, he wanted to draw some diagrams for his Physics project!!!

What to do - then I thought, well go on your own.  So that was it.  I had my Miss SIlver talking book in the car for company.  I actually like going out in the car on my own, it's just going walking on my own that I get a bit concerned about.

I almost gave up because just as I joined the A590 the heavens opened and it was a torrential outburst, BUT I decided to carry on.  Straight up the M6 from Junction 36 to 39, then through Shap and on to 

I am so glad |I did as the weather was beautiful.  A bit warm for me, but not intense heat so it was fabulous.

I decided to sit on the open air terrace upstairs as there was quite a bit of space and it was sort of outside.  The table in the picture is usually where I like to sit, but they had "reserved" on it - apparently it's jut that they're not using those at the moment as people have to pass there all the time to go further into the restaurant.  Have you noticed the crocodile on the bridge, I didn't want to be his lunch???

I had a lovely frittata and salad for early lunch, delicious.  The waitresses, were extremely helpfuul and friendly and they still fully sanitise tables after every use, everyone has to wear masks and hand sanitiser is still there.  The only thing, for me, was there are only two toilets for everyone as they other two are currently under refurbishment. and ou had to queue, but to be fair everyone was socially distanced.  They had stuff inside to sanitise with before and after use, so I did, not sure that everyone did but hey.  Then I had to queue to pay which took an age.  Still I was in no hurry.

Then I had a lovely walk around their extensive grounds.  They are famous for their statuary, but they are exorbitant so whether they ever sell any or not I'm not sure, but it is still lovely to see.  I think their plants are a reasonable price, well sort of reasonable. The gift shop has a lot of very expensive things  in it, but lovely to see, as well as some normal priced stuff.

I did wonder about going to Askham on the way home but decided to head straight home.

Everything was fine until I joned the M6 at shap and there was a torrential downpour this happened a couple of times, but they short and sharp, just a case of moving into the left hand lane if I was overtaking anything and slowing down.  It rained off and on quite a lot.  I got back into Grange and had another deluge,  but of couse as soon as I went past The Pink Palace up to Kents Bank the sun came out again - yeah!!!

Poor G had decided to go for his daily walk around the block but chose the wrong time and got drenched!!!

All in all a lovely few hours out on my own, doing just what I wanted to do and taking a few photos (see collage).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.