Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Butterflies and flowers

At last it was a sunny day today - all day! We have had heavy rain showers every afternoon this week, so the puddles on the common are huge. This morning I was walking on Esher Common and Xena started playing with a dog that was walking in our direction - when we got to a puddle that covered the entire pathway that looked very big I decided to go in another direction, but the owner of the other dog said 'I'm going in I have old trainers on' - well she was in up to her knees in water as there was a very deep section! I was very glad I turned back as I hate walking with wet socks and trainers. 

After lunch I went to RHS Wisley - I had booked my entry today after considering the weather forecast and while it was hot and sunny, it was rather windy so it was not so easy taking photos of the flowers which were waving about in the breeze. I love this time of year as they always have magnificent shows of echinacea, rudbeckia and echinops and this year they certainly did not disappoint. For the first time this season I saw Red Admiral butterflies and Peacock butterflies which were on the echinacea, so the lovely Red Admiral had to feature today. 

If you would like to see more flowers from the beautiful gardens, you can see them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.