Grammy

By Grammy

Busy Bees, Beautiful Buttflies and a Big Bug

Sunny and hot all day. We were spared last night’s storms that looked pretty fierce on radar. Got up early to look for the monarchs that were here yesterday. No joy. I decided to deadhead my five butterfly bushes and almost finished before the heat was too much. Took most of these shots during that job. The insects must have been thirsty; they were everywhere. One butterfly looks like a jet getting ready for take off. The big bug is a cicada and you will also notice, the hummers have returned. We had two today. Hubby took my van to have my four new tires put on. My sister and BIL dropped off the craft project items so I can attach the last piece and brought some produce. Later, Kim and Parker came by for tomatoes and cucumbers. I go for days with no company and then the day I wear my scruffiest gardening clothes, everyone shows up. Oh well, it was no big deal considering the bad news we received last night. Skylar’s best friend lost her Mom who has been quite ill for a few years. Tina’s mom sent her to Skylar’s/Kristen’s right before she passed, knowing they would provide the comfort and support she would need. With the Mom being so sick for so long, Kristen has kind of assumed the mother roll. Sixteen is a tough age to lose your Mom and unfortunately, Kristen is heading to San Diego on a business trip today until Monday. Abby, my older granddaughter, took the girls to shop for suitable clothes to wear to the funeral so that Tina would not have to sit in the house where her Mom passed. Sky had asked hubby and I to take them, but everyone agreed Abby was a better choice for many reasons. It warms my heart to see my family readily help those in need. I will be able to rest when everyone gets back and Kristen gets to California safely. Thanks for your visit, stars and comments. “May the stars carry your sadness away, may the flowers fill your heart with beauty, may hope forever wipe away your tears." - Chief Dan George

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.