Unlucky thirteen

I apologise for the facetious title, but on the thirteenth anniversary of working with my current organisation, it’s noteworthy the change in how I describe my experiences today compared to a few years ago. Every organisation has been under various strains during the Covid pandemic, but mine have been made harder by failings that predate it, around my status and setup of my role. In short, if an organisation wants to send someone internationally to do work it claims to view as critical and strategic, then it simply has to provide adequate support and prioritise the duty of care. I always conclude, even when I rationalise and objectively view the situation, that I have been let down, and it feels like a real shame. Lesson learnt for future career moves: leave an organisation to keep things fresh when you hit a decade and/or before you start to resent things.

The heavens poured as I left the office, so I sheltered beneath an overhang and watched the rain slam down on the bike park. Apparently they’re planning to move this to a new underground car park, and create an open piazza walk through area linked to the city centre that will be part of a strategy to ‘merge town and gown’. It may be the rumour mill in overdrive, but it sounds viable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.