MONO MONDAY - CORNERS

Corner - a place or angle where two sides or edges meet

I was awake very early again this morning, without the alarm waking me, and was ready to go out for my walk just after 6 o’clock - my eighth daily walk in a row - so I am getting used to this.  The only trouble is that sadly, my knees don’t feel any less creaky and in fact, most steps I take are quite painful.  Not sure why, but perhaps I need to do some other exercises too.

By 6.40 a.m. the walk completed, I was back home and had a quick bite of breakfast before going over to Waitrose to do some shopping, since they opened at 7 o’clock.  It was very quiet, as you would expect at that time, so after I had finished, and put the shopping in the boot of the car, I went for a walk over the canal bridge and took lots of shots of different corners, but wasn’t really happy with them - well not happy enough for the Mono Monday challenge anyway.

Walking around the outside of the Hall & Woodhouse pub, which is in a delightful spot on the canalside, I found this workbench, which is obviously very old and because there is a theme of boatbuilding and repairing within the pub, this may have something to do with that, although, unfortunately, there was no-one around to ask that early in the morning.  I did think it would translate well into a black and white shot but I also tried it in this sepia colour and think it works better than stark black and white - and there are certainly plenty of corners on the bench.

Whilst looking at the workbench, I did wonder what stories it would tell if it could speak.  I also wondered how many boats have started off as just plain pieces of wood and then been shaped on this bench to make wonderful sea, river or canal-worthy boats?  However many, this was obviously a well-used workbench.

Mission accomplished, I drove home and then sat in the garden for a while with Mr. HCB, who had been pottering about out there since just after I left, so he told me.  It was lovely sitting in the sun and of course, I wore my new Tilley hat!

“It is essential to have good tools, 
     but it is also essential 
          that the tools should be used 
               in the right way.”
Wallace D. Wattles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.