TINY TUESDAY AND HAVING FUN!

I’m getting used to waking before the alarm on my clock goes off, but I balked at getting up this morning at 5.17 a.m.  I knew that Mr. HCB would be awake quite early because he has gone off to cricket today, so I didn’t need to be especially quiet when I got up.  I was up and out just after 6 o’clock and decided to walk round part of my field - although I didn’t go all round because it was a misty morning and very wet underfoot.  

I spent some time underneath the oak tree, gazing up into its branches and just generally enjoying the sights and sounds of nature all around me.  Of course, I took lots of photographs and did some singing and praying as I walked.  There were lots of spiders’ webs on the various plants and I marvelled at how intricate these were and of course, probably wouldn’t have seen them were it not for the heavy dew and mist.

When I got home, Mr. HCB was in the garden pottering and watering in the greenhouse, while I had a wander around the garden.  I have to say that so far the tomatoes have been very disappointing, we have had just ONE tiny one and although there are lots on the plants, they are just not ripening.  However, the runner beans, French beans, mange tout peas and the cucumbers are doing much better.  In fact, Mr. HCB missed one of the cucumbers, and it grew quite large, so as our friend, Rachel, is very partial to his cucumbers, and just eats them as she might eat an apple, I called her Mum, Gill, and asked if she would like to pop round and collect one.  I have put in an extra to show how big it had got - and it makes a lovely smiley face!

I found at least eight spiders’ webs on our Golden Wedding sculpture and thought that these would make a good shot for Tiny Tuesday - I haven’t zoomed right in, but you can see, even from this distance, how intricate they are - I wonder how long it takes a spider to create a masterpiece like this?

Once Mr. HCB had gone off to cricket, I set about cleaning our patio with the new Karcher thingamajig that we decided to treat ourselves to - it did a great job and I got really mucky, and even cleaned the outside of our large conservatory, but suddenly, with one window to go, it just stopped working and I tried everything from the trouble-shooting paragraph in the booklet, but nothing happened - it was still dead.  

I decided I would go indoors and ask Mr. Google  if there was anything else I could do, when I found the computer was off.   "Aha, I thought - a power cut!"  I knew where the electrics were, but didn’t have a clue about what I should do, so called for Mike, our lovely next door neighbour, who sorted it out - he confirmed that probably some water had got in and “tripped” the circuit.  I was delighted so I was able to finish off and am now off to have a hot shower to get rid of all the muck and  mud that is all over me, not just my trousers and shoes!  I have had such fun and the sun is now shining, so an afternoon in the garden reading my book about Malawi calls - and I might even just sit out there in my pink robe!

“Even though you’re growing up, 
     you should never stop having fun.” 
Nina Dobrev

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.