Marionb

By Marionb

"What the....???"

"...You'd  Think Someone Would Have Told Me!" 

"How embarrassing ..The only swan in a bunch of vagabond geese and I'm the one they tagged?" 

I finally left the confines of my house and garden today. This past weekend was a holiday weekend so best to stay out of the way - off the roads, away from the beaches, away from the madding crowd...but as everything would be much subdued today,  I ventured out. 

I had not been down to the marsh and the lakeshore for quite some time - really since the spring - so that is where I headed. I was amazed to see how it had changed. I thought my garden was overgrown this year;  it is nothing compared to the wetland...Wow...The pathways along the narrow peninsula between the lake and the marsh were like tunnels, the marsh itself a sea of green. It was a whole new world to me. I don't know what I expected, but it certainly was not that. I really must make a point of visiting the local conservation areas in the summer as well! 

Anyway, I enjoyed an hour or so there, met a nice couple from north of Toronto feeding the chickadees...He mentioned that on their first date he had brought her here.. he realized it might be risky. Big date. Going to feed some birds? Hmmm.. Risky.  Obviously it worked! They are still together after 6 years....and still feeding the chickadees. 

I got quite a kick out of this swan in the main photo. She (?) was constantly grooming and got herself into some comical contortions that just cried out for captions. This one was my favourite. I included the extra lest I forget what the marsh looks like in summer! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.