Marionb

By Marionb

Hung Up On Mosaics...

...Temporarily

Over the years I have enjoyed a roller coaster of hobbies. They come and go ...and often return. It isn't as if I master the art and then move on; it is just that my interest fades when something new comes along and I bury myself in the new ....for a while..and then often go back to the old... 

Years ago when I was discovering the many appealing works of Kaffe Fassett, I got all excited about mosaics. I had taken up knitting again because of him, and then needlework again because of him and then I came across his mosaics.  A whole new hobby! Yay!  

I may already have mentioned that I love china? Well, I also love broken china. And I love sticking china pieces onto other things...so I dropped everything and made a mosaic birdhouse...and then a blue and white mosaic lamp base, and then - my favourite -  a picture frame from the Thrift Store with the intention of making it into a mirror. 

Somewhere along the line, I discovered that Kaffe made quilts too and I became so immersed in quilting that all my other hobbies were put on the back burner... The point of all this is that I left behind a lot of unfinished projects as I rode that hobby roller coaster...

One of my pandemic challenges was to finish up all those forgotten projects.  I have made some progress in that regard and today, I managed another two...I dug out and carried two mosaic frames  - one china, one seashells - to a glass and mirror shop and now have two mosaic mirrors to hang!  Problem is - where to hang them? Not an inch of space on these walls, but I will find something to take down to make room. 

Today's blip, for lack of anything better, is a photo of the one mirror.. Ever try to photograph a mirror? Geez....and not get yourself in the photo? Hence the weird angled blip. The sea shell mirror is still waiting for the silicon adhesive to cure..It has a story all of its own and I may blip it next time I am in a blip bind..as I am today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.