Fish Market

Over the last 18 months I have discovered that nearly everything we need can be sought and bought online and then delivered. It is very welcome in our current circumstance, although I am not sure it is at all sustainable. And it does make me worry about the future of the “ high street”, and all the businesses who rely on people through the door.

And I did say nearly everything. A birthday is on the horizon, and top of the list is something I cannot buy online. So for the first time since December 2019 I headed to a particular location in Manchester.

My destination used to be the Fish Market. A new mural was commissioned in Spring this year. A judging panel from the local community looked at the 50 or so entries, and this is the winner. It commemorates Jimmy Kelly, a fishmonger. Cats were welcomed into the fish market to deal with pests, and rewarded with fish dinners. After the market closed in 1973 Jimmy was concerned for the cat’s welfare, so returned daily to feed them. This may be my first cat blip,

It is now the Craft and Design Centre. I had a good chat to one of the makers, who we know well. I took a photo of her waving and sent it to J, who very much appreciated it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.