Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Greece on fire

Two gruesome pictures from the present fires in Greece I received today; the images gave me goosepimples. The main picture I got from one of my nephews in Athens, the extra from a friend in Limni on Evia; that fisherman's village is now totally surrounded by the fires on the mounting hills behind that village. I feel so sorry for all who lose their house and/or stock of animals, agriculture. Evia is one of Greece's most green islands... I hope it still is! 

It's more or less annually that in the early days of August and/or the final days of July, fires break out in Greece's trees; they may form a woodland or stand in borders near the houses in villages or suburbs; like now again; Athens' suburb Acharnes is in instant danger of the fires on Parnitha mountain... the main image shows the smoke reaching high above Athens (and now all of Athens succumbs from the smoke/smog) and in the extra the inferno seen from Limni on Evia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.