Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Egg and Spoon

Arrived safe and sound in the Lake District last night.  Everything in the hotel was COVID secure when I arrived, room service wasn't up to much and in the morning, despite having to book your breakfast slot, there appeared to be a free for all, which made me very nervous.

After checking out I then headed to our leadership retreat which was only quarter of an hour away.  There was a wedding party still checking out so our rooms weren't ready, a bunch of us decided to climb the nearby fell.  We were treated to wonderful views across Morecambe Bay and then up north towards the big peaks of the Fells.  Glorious views.

We then had a spot of lunch and I was able to play with some cute doggos, a brother and sister cocker spaniels and two Shih Tzu.  They seemed to know the dog lovers and quickly cottoned on to me.

In the afternoon we then had our sports day, where competitions like the egg and spoon race, build the highest tower, human 0s and Xs, memory game etc took place.  It was a good laugh but not really my cup of tea.

The weather is glorious so we were mainly outside, which again gave me a good deal of confidence and safety.

And then it was off to a pub for the evening for a meal.  Again another nervous and big moment for me, luckily we were upstairs, which was practically only us and the bay windows were wide open to allow plenty of ventilation.  

Needless to say I've been paranoid of any cough, sore throat or temperature since.  So far so good.

It was good to have that face to face time with people.

Today I am thankful for:

1.  Feeling safe despite these new post-COVID experiences
2.  Doggo time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.