Grammy

By Grammy

Church in the Round

Sunny and warm with white fluffy clouds in a bright blue sky. It has been awhile since our sky has been so beautiful. After a quick breakfast, I went shopping for meat and some new slacks. At least there were some good beef sales. On the way home, I stopped to photograph this church as my blip. “The Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church was opened in November 1947 and served the Catholic community in Lexington Park until 1961 when a new church was built (pictured)…. The Lexington Park community was formed after the establishment of the NAS Patuxent River in the early 40’s and grew to be the most populous area of the county.” (Taken from MSA.MD.GOV). Locals call this “the church in the round” because the altar is in the center of the sanctuary. This parish always has a Spanish speaking priest on staff since many of our Hispanic population are parishioners. At some point, I realized my military id had expired in July and went into panic mode; my shopping was on base. Thankfully, after he finished cutting the grass at church, Hubby took me to get it renewed. Turns out, my id wasn’t questioned at the gate or Commissary because the expiration date had automatically been extended to January 2022 due to COVID. An expired id would result in me in losing my prescription coverage. We had a nice lunch out. Hubby vacuumed while I took care of the groceries. Our daily jobs were complete - Kindle time. Thanks for the visit, stars and comments recently. “Churches are not museums that display perfect people. They are hospitals where the wounded, hurt, injured and broken find healing.” - Nicky Gumbel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.