Inspiration

On This Day In History
1974: President Nixon resigns

Quote Of The Day
"A man is not finished when he is defeated. He's finished when he quits."
(Richard M. Nixon)

Oh the irony.

Despite the 30 degrees heat at 08:30, I was inspired by the Olympic marathon runners on TV to go for a 10k run. I was pleased I did so because I ran well.

A few days, I was inspired by a collage which a friend of mine shared on Facebook. The collage had lots of S.F. characters on it. I told my friend that I would like to make one too. I have been working on that for the past few days and finished it this afternoon. It works outwards, in chronological order, with 100 S.F. characters (plus a few other genres thrown in here and there) from 1902 to 2019. 

As I was working on this collage, I noticed a couple of interesting things. There are no S.F. characters represented from the 1940's and very few from the 2000's. I guess WWII could account for the 1940's shortage. Regarding the 2000's, there was certainly no shortage of S.F. films and television, but I have a suspicion that much of it was of the popcorn variety, with very few seminal works. The characters in my collage were chosen on an entirely arbitrary basis, simply those films, T.V. shows and characters that most appeal to me. To stay within the 100 limit there were a few I regretted leaving out, such as Contact, Ghost In The Shell, District 9 and Interstellar. 

I think a few blippers might enjoy trying to identify the characters in this collage. I look forward to hearing your feedback - challenges, suggestions for deletions/additions etc.

Anyway, time for the naughty bits (and another S.F. homage.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.