Respite

Sewers to the left of me
Neighbours to the right
Into the fray rode the one

... sorry Tennyson.
Spent the morning discussing sewer strategy with my neighbour with the backdrop of hysterical shouting, screaming and crying. I went across to discuss the matter and the suggestion/threat of calling the police settled it down for a while.
Meanwhile my landlord rocks up having rung to say he was up north and arranged to call by. At a rough guess, it is 12 years since he’s been to see the place. I wasn’t sure I’d recognise him. I didn’t. About 3 hours of looking around (it’s tiny!) and discussion. I’m not sure we got far but we’re arranging for John to sort the rotting windows and for some external work to be done. The whole thing of property, ownership, power over. It’s hard to move past the feeling that you should be pulling your forelock and be ever so grateful.

It all left me feeling unsettled so I went to do a shop and headed over to my friend’s via another house I’ve seen.
Tea and biscuits under their shelter during a downpour, then a checking of the wildflowers progress ... https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2820417257920793020
...followed by croquet on the lawn when the sun popped out briefly. Supper was a wonder of garden produce and courgette cake for afters. I slunk back into the war zone at half past midnight and all was quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.