Dragon

I was just contemplating what to do for a blip this afternoon as it had just stopped raining(at last), when I looked out of the window and saw a dragonfly land on the underside of one of my hanging baskets. Quick as a flash I grabbed the camera and headed outside to see if it was still there. I only got this one shot before it must have seen me creeping forward and it flew off. I have no idea what it is as it’s covered up too much by foliage, but it will have to do.  

I’m amazed that I’m actually still awake as I have been up since 2am with very little sleep. I went to bed early last night and set my alarm so that I could watch the final session of the Olympics in the velodrome, and I am so glad that I did. It started off badly with Laura Kenny getting caught in a massive crash, but ended with her husband getting a SEVENTH gold medal in the most extraordinary Keirin race I've ever seen. It was so exhilarating watching him sprint to victory. Surely now he deserves a knighthood?  Arise Sir Jason Kenny! 
I finally went back to bed at about 5.30am but didn’t get much sleep and was up again at 7.30am. I didn’t watch it live, but Lauren Price won our last medal of the games, a gold, in the boxing.  

The Tokyo Olympics have been amazing and I’ve enjoyed them far more than I thought I would. The missing crowds have not been that noticeable and our athletes have been fantastic with many many wonderful performances. Lots of highs and lows and some new stars emerging in new sports. And now it’s only 3 years until Paris :) 

Number of GB medals today = 2G
Cumulative medals = 22G, 21S, 22B (4th in the final medal table). This equals the total number of medals won in London. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.