Roesel’s Bush Cricket

Homeward bound today and we stopped off at Venus Pool again to check for butterflies again. It was only 10am when we arrived and still a little misty although it soon lifted and soon we were over 20 degrees. The lack of butterflies was frustrating but as we neared the end of our walk around the field many more appeared, so I guess we were just a little too early. There were lots of whites, gatekeepers and meadow browns with the odd blue, tortoiseshell, small skipper and one red admiral thrown in for good measure. I also took a poor shot of what has turned out to be a Burnet Companion moth which is a first for me. 
My blip today however is of a Roesel’s Bush Cricket (thank you Seek app) which jumped out in front of me. I was struck by how green he was, which apparently is quite unusual. 

After a week away I was amazed at how much everything has grown in the garden and it was lovely to see lots more sunflowers, zinnias and snapdragons now in flower. The tomatoes are getting there but still very green with a way to go yet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.