Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The operation is over

It's been hectic.

I had an appointment with the hygienist followed by one with the dentist. All OK and my teeth are sparkling and shiny.

Back home to help Mum get ready for the journey to Newcastle. She had one eyelid lifted this afternoon. The operation took about an hour and was under local anaesthetic. In my blip, the anaesthetic has not worn off yet and I think she was euphoric to have the job done.

The aim if to allow light to go in through the pupil and improve vision. We did not know that an occlusive dressing would be applied, so Mum needs to make a rapid adjustment to using her left eye only.

The staff were all lovely.

While I was in the waiting room, the receptionist asked me about my knitting. I told her about the refugee knitting I do. Turns out she is from Sunderland and knows the wool shop I use.

Then the wife of another patient came over - she had overheard this and she has friends who love knitting. Could I pass on the information because they might like to join the charity knitters.

When her husband came out of his appointment, I plucked up courage to tell his that his walking stick was (much too) short for him. He was walking with great difficulty and tending to topple forwards. 

When Mum was ready, I felt as though I had not been there long, although I did finish one sleeve and start another.

Oh yes, and the Pilipino nurse is a walker and had just been up Great Gable and got soaked at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.