Marionb

By Marionb

McCall #1399

As I have mentioned before, I keep things.This is one of those things. 

My mother made this jacket a very long time ago. I can't remember ever seeing her wear it - perhaps I was too young?  Maybe I wasn't even born yet? But I have always loved it and thought it was quite funky..Hard to imagine your mother ever being "funky" or fashionable", eh? ...but then she also had some amazing platform emerald green shoes stashed away in her closet too ..which I am sure were very cool in her time...( she kept things too). 

Mom loved working with her hands, particularly in sewing, quilting, knitting and needle arts and now that she has passed, we all have remembrances of her in our own homes - items she made especially for us, or things we always associated with her. At her memorial service, all those items were on display, including this jacket. Before the service, a woman approached me to say that she had made that same jacket but in a different colour way back in the day....that it had been a pattern you could order...Well, who knew? I have since tracked it down, just for interest. It was from the 1940's - McCall 1399 - Printed Pattern with Transfer and cost 50 cents! I assume it was popular and wonder how many other folks have one of those jackets stashed away in memory of THEIR mom....

As much as I love the jacket, it just hangs in a closet, hidden from view; my challenge now is to find a fun way to display it. If I were a tiny person, I swear I would just wear it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.