Grrrrrr!

Frustration - the code word for the last few days. Apologies in advance for the long rant!  Today’s joy was the ridiculous phone system at the local council.  I had to ring to make an appointment to take the asbestos cement to the one recycling centre in the district which will accept it.  I only have 2 days when I can get there so needed to get through today to sort it as you have to give at least 24 hours notice.  I rang the appropriate number and was told there were 12 ahead in the queue. 20 minutes later I was still holding on and then the phone cut off!  This happened twice more.  I tried a 4th time and finally got through to a human!  She said “hold on”, put me back to the piped music, and then cut me off!  Fuming by this time I decided to leave it a while and messaged the council on social media. The girl who replied stated the obvious i.e. it is dangerous material, you have to make an appointment - er, yes, that is why I am trying to get through to you,  but your stupid phone system cuts me off! She didn’t make any suggestions  apart from keep trying. I cope well with major issues in my life, but stupid things like this stress me out, so I went out for a walk.  Decided to leave the phone ringing as I walked and after 25 minutes a man answered - I explained what had been happening so he said “right, before we do anything else I will take your phone number so that if you get cut off I can ring you straight back”. My saviour!  All booked in for Wednesday. Phew. Now all I have to do is find the place which is in one of the least salubrious areas of the nearest city.  Another frustration was that as I walked around the estate my camera then cut out.  Couldn’t work out what had happened, but luckily had a couple of shots of the view through the gate across to the moors, and of the moorland heather near the golf course which is beginning to look wonderful.  Spent a few hours walking around up there to get the day out of my system!  On the way home I spotted friends in the local so joined them for a drink - really needed that lager!  Returning home I had a message from a different girl at the council who said that Mondays were the busiest day, but if I sent her my number she would ring me back and do the booking for me - now why couldn’t the first girl have done that when I first contacted them?!  Found out my camera’s memory card was full hence the problem, and it had also lost the date.  Today’s photos were listed as 01/08/1980 so wouldn’t download to my iPad without a bit of faffing.  Eventually I have got it all sorted.  Now I’m hoping I can find my driving licence, council tax bill and car registration document as I have to take them to the waste recycling site (bet they don’t even bother looking at them when I get there!) - talk about having to jump through hoops!  Hoping tomorrow is calmer.
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.