Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, 36

Showing up late for the AOG but right on time to add to my visual yard bird list, a young Blue-gray Gnatcatcher.  I actually saw one last week but wasn't able to get a decent shot so decided to wait...  This still isn't a great shot but it does show a feature that helps to identify it as a youngster which is the white edging on the wings (tertial edges).  Gnatcathers are very small, very flitty birds with a song that is a very high-pitched whispery tzeeee.  This time of year, no vocalizations so one must rely solely on catching a glimpse of fast movement as they dart out to glean insects.  

I am also adding Yard Bird # 37 in Extra - a yard-first Least Flycatcher!  It's not a good shot, but good enough that you can see the diagnostic eye ring and the bold wing bars.  I had to check in with the bird-brain trust to ensure that my id was correct is this isn't a species that I see every year.  

Both little insectivores were sorry to learn that they'd totally missed the Gnat-Gobbling Races at the AOG this year.  That didn't stop them from demonstrating their newly learned skills, though, much to the dismay of the gnats.  

I had a good solid night of sleep last night and feeling quite perky today.  Unfortunately, my car is at the garage getting a repair which prevented me going out to paddle.  Maybe tomorrow.  In the meantime, there is plenty to keep me occupied in the yard, including my first Goldenrod Crab Spider of the year - see HERE

Dark with bits of espresso beans today - yum.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.