Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello, World!

When I went outside this morning, something sounded different  I couldn't quite put my finger on what it was but I knew it was birds, baby birds, and that they seemed to be all around the patio area.  And then I spotted one - a tiny House Wren sitting calmly on the edge of the bird bath  No tail but appeared to have flight feathers  I crept up to it, managed to get it in my hands before it handily squiggled out and ran into the vegetation  Meanwhile, the noise continued.  

I went to the nest box to see if it had been damaged - nothing.  But also no sounds of hungry nestlings coming from within.  Now I was worried.  I went back up to the deck to ponder...and two tiny baby wrens flew up - one landing in a flower pot (seen here) and the other on the frame of our gazebo.  Both tailless but clearly flighted.  The one on the frame took flight (awkwardly, but still) and reached the safety of one of our pine trees.  The other crouched in the flower pot.  I did what any sensible photographer would do - I took a couple of pictures before retreating to see what would happen.  A few minutes later, this one joined his sibling in the tree.  I saw no signs of either parent, but I am going to assume they were there.  By mid-day the sounds of little baby wrens seemed a bit further away, which means they are probably with parents further back in the woods learning the Way of the Wren.  Here is a shot of the two of them, looking totally grumpy.

It was also a big day in the Monarch Nursery with the first butterfly of the year eclosing.  I released it in honor of a fellow blipper's sister.  At this time of the year, she will most likely breed, her offspring destined to make the journey to Mexico in late September.  

it is hotter than hell out there - 90 F with 62% humidity which makes it feel like 101F.  And full sun.  Not a day for the kayak as there also isn't a whisper of a breeze meaning that it would just be hot out on the lake.  I think this current heat wave is due to break over the weekend.  

Dark chocolate with salted caramel today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.