Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hello/Goodbye...

You say yes, I say no
You say stop and I say go go go, oh no
You say goodbye and I say hello
Hello hello
I don't know why you say goodbye, I say hello
Hello hello
I don't know why you say goodbye, I say hello


I say high, you say low
You say why and I say I don't know, oh no - The Beatles, 1967

That was the song that was going through my head today as I stood in the sweltering heat, trying to catch a shot of this pair of Tiger Swallowtails.  She (above) had been peacefully having a drink at the Buddleia Cafe when he started pestering her.  Even when she called for security, he just wouldn't let her be.  So she left...and he followed.  He tried everything in his book of tricks and for a moment ... just a moment...I thought she might acquiesce.  But then she pulled out a move of her own, zooming up in Oak tree and leaving him below, bewildered and bereft.

Still have a lot of hummingbird clearwing moths (and feathered hummies, too) in the garden and more skippers by the day.  I have posted a shot of a pair of Peck's Skippers HERE on Flickr

Our temps hit 96 this afternoon with a big dose of humidity so being outside for more than 15 minutes at a time was unbearable.  And now we are having a loud and ambitious thunderstorm.  It might cool things by about 5 degrees (F) but we aren't out from under the heat-dome yet.  

If the weather improves, my friend Giselle is going to release a Screech Owl at our friends' farm tonight.  We built an owl box for them when we were building ours, so they've just hung it in preparation for the new arrival.  I will try for some photos although always tricky in the dark.

Dark with salted toffee today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.