Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tattered

Someone obviously tried to have a little sample of this fresh male Eastern Tiger Swallowtail.  Just as clearly, it is not impeding him in any way.  He was busy chasing a female around, taking time out to fuel up on the zinnias in my garden.  It is always a little sobering to realize that the average life of this species is 2 weeks.  In that time, their whole purpose is to procreate.  (Another bit of entomological trivia)

I am very happy to report that the other monarch chrysalid that I removed from the side of the house into a container emerged today.  I kept her in the enclosure until her wings were hardened and then we had a little chat so that I could tell her something about the person she's flying in memory of.  She was very content to ride around the garden on my finger and I could almost swear that she was listening intently to my every word.  See Extra

In other news, I discovered a big yellow jacket ground nest right next to the house in my garden.  So tonight I am going to go out and do something I hate doing - I am going to blast poison into the nest.  This nest is right outside our back door and leaving it there is begging for me, Hubs and/or the dog to be on the receiving end of angry wasps because there's no way to walk past without disturbing them.  There is some milkweed right over the nest entrance, so I will have to cut that back lest any residual toxins drift.  Ugh, I hate using chemicals. But leaving it there isn't an option.  

Another interesting discovery in the garden was a huge Tiger Bee Fly, the first I've seen.  Also in Extra.  I'd have blipped it had it been on a more interesting perch.

Jax is napping.  He had a full day yesterday at daycare so is having happy dreams.  I'll take him for a walk later since it's a relatively pleasant day and not too hot.  

Dark with nuts today

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.