carliewired

By carliewired

Chasing

I stood and watched and
waited for the first ray of
my morning sunshine

~ carliewired

I was up all too early. I backed the car out at 5:15 with a thought to watch the sunrise from the Columbia Street Lookout. It was 16 C with just the hint of wildfire smoke in the air. 

I parked at the edge of the lookout to wait for the light to come up. I started having second thoughts when I watched an elderly couple scouring the parking lot for cigarette butts. They had arrived in an old van. I determined they were harmless enough but odd. I didn't want to speculate what they wanted those castoffs for. 

My patience soon paid off. I got my shot of the sun coming up over the back of Mt. Peter, then made my getaway. 

I drove down to McArthur Island Park to see if I could catch some bugs. I had my little camera for the closeups. The Butterfly Garden provided the flowers. 

I looked over into the slough. The bridge and the water seemed so bright this morning after the grey, smoky days we've been seeing. There were a few ducks enjoying their morning too. 

I made a brief stop to pick up some grocery items I'd forgotten the last time and headed home for breakfast. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 34 C expected. Air quality is rated at 2 (low risk) but we might see that deteriorate this afternoon as the day heats up. It will be another inside day for me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.