Lily!!

Every year, this stunning lily looks and smells better and better! Usually we are away, so miss its stupendous display, but as we had our holiday early this year, we haven't missed it. I'm so pleased. The scent fills the garden, and where once just one lily grew, it now has 2 full size stems. I bought the bulbs many years ago when Rachel and I went to the Gardeners World show in Birmingham. We both bought lots of things, and had a fun couple of days away! We should do that again Rachel!!

After an extremely long working day - I started at 7 and finished just after 6, I did some watering, and wandered around my small but almost perfectly formed garden, admiring the flowers and veg. I took loads of pictures, but in the end lily won. She towers so tall she is giving the sun flowers a run for their money! I picked a load of runner beans, my first 2 small cucumbers and another courgette. I also got quite excited when I spotted one of my round courgettes has grown. Usually they get to ping pong size then drop off, so I now have a large orange sized fruit, and am hoping it gets a little bigger. I'll pick it at the weekend. My yellow courgettes are really productive too, so this small garden is producing lots for me - and easily as much as the allotment.

Now I'm going to see where I got to with my patchwork. Left off on Sunday with a bit to do, so will turn it inside out and see what it looks like. Hoping to finish it by the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.