Festival of Sport

I have had a wonderful day with this lovely lady. Whenever any of my friends are even vaguely in the vicinity, I am so pleased to be able to catch up, and that is what I did this afternoon. Karen has been volunteering at an event which is being held at Holkham Hall this weekend. Her duties involved the preparation of all sorts of things, and I was able to go and help them today, as it is my day off. We spent several hours happily filling goody bags with very specific items, t shirts, wrist bands, ear plugs and torches. There were hundreds to fill. Once we had done that, we had a drive around the site, Karen at the wheel of a golf buggy- she was in her element! These rows of luxury bell tents are the accommodation the visitors to the event, have paid for, for their weekend. They were very neatly erected, each with its own bunting, and beds like a traditional glamping set up. Let's hope the weather is kind. It looks to be a very special event, with lots of sports, and professionals attending to give the tuition. It was nice to be introduced to Austin Healey and Will Greenwood today, who are organising, and leading the professionals.

The location is perfect, and when we had finished Karen and I and another volunteer had a nice catch up and cup of tea at The Victoria where the volunteers are staying tonight. So nice to see Karen - one of the few friends I have actually seen in lockdown already, when we were in Peak District in April, but lovely to see her again. Let's hope we can get together again soon.

Drove home at just after 8. Its a 50 minute drive, but much easier going home without traffic. Ready for my bed now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.