Slump

Quite a lot of the highly-regarded Tokyo exhibition at the Ashmolean Museum was out of my reach, sadly. I'd hoped to learn but mostly I felt a bit distanced. I had some sympathy with this attendant even though I absolutely loved the cherry-blossom entrance (see Tivoli's extra) at the other end of the corridor he's 'monitoring'.

En route to a coffee at the Old Fire Station we stumbled across an exhibition there of Rafa Borja’s ceramics which 'question perceived ideas of masculinity'. I'm all in favour of that but he happened to be there and very unfortunately proceeded to lecture me without consent, end or escape route, totally undermining the questioning of perceived ideas of masculinity. I was too polite to tell him so, totally undermining my questioning of perceived ideas of femininity.

Tivoli and I continued our year-old (and possibly lifelong) search for the perfect falafel in Oxford which was a much happier enterprise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.