Fly

I always admire fellow blippers who, in search of a photographic subject, wander out into their garden with a macro lens, find an interesting bug of some sort and produce a stunningly sharp and interesting close-up photograph of it.  My experience of this sort of thing is that
 
(a) I can almost never find a bug, never mind an interesting one
(b) on those rare occasions I spot one, it has flown away long before I get near it with my camera.
(c) if, on an even rarer occasion, it doesn't fly away, a combination of wind blowing its perch about and my unsteadiness prevent me getting a sharp picture.

This afternoon I thought I'd have another go.  As I don't have a working flashgun at the moment, I was looking on the sunlit side of the garden to give me plenty of illumination.  I did find a (to me) boring looking fly sitting on a leaf.  I did manage to photograph it before it flew away.

Now it may not be a particularly valuable natural history photograph.  The fly isn't doing anything special.  However, I was pleased with the detail I managed to capture and, at this enlargement (the image is cropped a fair bit), the fly looks rather more interesting and  colourful than it did to the naked eye.

This won't win any prizes, but it is one of my best attempts so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.