Dundee

As was the case in Edinburgh last week, my Dundee hotel’s hygiene arrangements were excellent. Again as in Edinburgh, face mask etc compliance by staff and guests was 99% - the perfect record spoiled by one Covidiot at breakfast. 

The hotel was doing a buffet breakfast - which you could take back to your room (or away to work) if that was your preference - and it was well organised for safety. The same maskless Covidiot could not read the signs, obviously. 

Scotland had a further relaxation of restrictions this week, which could have been seen by some as an excuse to ditch the masks and go back to kissing strangers in the street. You know, the Free Dumb Day types. I was relieved and encouraged to see good compliance continuing. 

Unlike my Edinburgh trip, I did a tourist thing! I went to the V&A Dundee - “Scotland’s Design Museum”. It was opened in September 2018, and I had in mind to pay it a visit after the initial cavalry charge had subsided. Then we had a pandemic. By then the exterior had reinforced my desire to have a look for myself. Well, patience is a virtue.   

Now I am back at home, too soon, but grateful for the short escape.

The Blip is the view from ground/water level underneath the V&A, out over the Firth of Tay. One Extra is the view from the coffee shop. The other is the terrace. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.