NatureQueen123

By TheLoveOfNature

Lots of Coffee

Today was my Thursday for Colby. I’m only allowed every other Thursday. The week I’m not there on a Thursday, I’m there on a Tuesday.

On Thursdays I’m in the Meadow or Woodland, opposed to Tuesdays being in the Walled Garden. I love Thursdays there, it’s been my favourite day to go for years. We have a laugh and I bring biscuits or cake, sometimes both :) Today I brought cupcakes and toffee waffles. I do love being in the Walled Garden too, but there’s just something about Thursdays that I enjoy more. Maybe it’s the group of people we have. It’s not the same at the moment, but before Covid we had a great team and always had a right laugh! Hopefully we’ll be back as the full team again soon :) Just have to wait for them to change the silly rules (none of us understand why the rules are still in place or why they can’t change).

I popped into the Co-op on my way to get the cakes and waffles. I also got a Raspberry Croissant and an iced coffee drink for my breakfast. When I arrived at Colby, the guys were already there. We had coffee and waffles before we even started any work. I had my breakfast and a waffle. 

The first job was to take one of the repaired picnic benches back down into the meadow. We were going to use the tractor and trailer, but the tractor had a puncture, so we used the RTV instead. We got the bench on the back and placed it in the meadow. We noticed some bolts sticking out. They would have really hurt if you hit your ankle on them, so we got a hacksaw to cut the ends off. Whilst one went to get that, myself and the other guy spread some Yellow Rattle seed.

We’d finished those few jobs and went to move some stones that were on one of the paths. We drove both RTVs over, well I was the passenger haha. Before we knew it, it was break time.

I made a large pot of coffee and was the only one drinking it, one had tea and the other had brought his own. I had about 3 mug fulls out of it. Fair to say I was a bit coffied out! For my first coffee, I placed one of the waffles over my mug to warm up the toffee (it’s the best way to eat them). The cupcakes were rather nice too :)

Time for another job. We’d gone to look at some logs to see if they were small enough for us to move. This meant driving both RTVs about 2 miles around the North Woods. We got there and found they were too big to handle, so thought we’d leave them for now. We drove back the long way around.

Next job, cutting the hedge. I was just sat in the RTV moving it forward every time the next bit of hedge needed cutting. We finished one hedge and moved onto the one opposite. I did the same job again. Just sitting there with my sunglasses on and my ear plugs in watching haha I collected the cuttings and tipped them in the compound. Again, before we knew it, it was time to go.

I’d basically spent my day either being driven around or driving. It was quite a productive day, but doesn’t really feel like it for me haha

This afternoon I did the garden that I was supposed to do yesterday. We walked the dogs first and then I tidied up the edges around the patio and gravel area and also around the edge of the border. I’d just about finished when the lady said it was time for coffee (my 5th of the day if you include the iced coffee). We sat down and had some biscuits too and a chat :)

I finally got home. Albie greeted me at the gate :) He was very happy to see me. He was crying when I left this morning, bless him. He ran to the window to watch me leave. I made a fuss of him and sat with him for a bit. Whilst my Mum was making supper, I was in the kitchen talking to her. Albie was there too and wanted to see what was going on, so I picked him up and held him for ages. He’s so cuddly :-)

Another chilled evening. I did go out to play ball with Albs for a bit, until it started to rain. We’ve got some old garden chairs behind some of the plants blocking Albie and Buster getting through. Albie spotted them and started growling and barking at them. It was hilarious! He did not like those chairs haha

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.