The Long Walk

... or the view from the copper statue of George III on his horse (extra) along the 3 mile tree lined path to Windsor Castle.  This is another of the spots I have only just got around to visiting in the too many years to mention that I have lived within 15 or 20 minutes drive of  Windsor, both when I lived near Heathrow and my current home!

Today I parked up in Windsor Great Park, so only walked around half of walkway (you can just see where I joined the path at the white gates near the centre of the image, about 0.5mile from the car park).  The gates mark one of the entrances to the deer park surrounding the hill with the statue on.  Established by the late HRH Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh over 70 years ago, the herd now contains around 500 animals, some of which I was also fortunate to observe today (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.