JeanSnaps

By JeanSnaps

Frilly in pink.

Up early after an early night yesterday. It was overcast so I faffed around on the computer instead of going out.  Finally got dressed and came downstairs to find Andy cleaning the car.  Went out to chat and saw this frilly double poppy.  There are more to come too. Made breakfast, fed the birds and gave them the mealy worm fat balls they love so I could clean the seed feeder.  Immediately the starlings moved in and battle commenced.  A delinquent youngster who didn't even have his full adult plumage barged his way in and would not be repelled.  A suicidally inclined sparrow nipped into the melee and then they were all seen off by a crow whose size was just too intimidating.  Later, I found the fat ball feeder, as always, on the ground.  Bits of fat balls remained so I set it up again.  The hoodlums had vanished and the small birds had a chance to feast.
After I had my coffee and crossword session I hoovered the stairs and upstairs but that was the chore of the day.  Andy came in the afternoon and there was more coffee with Yorkshire Brack.  We also sampled an apricot and ginger cake and generally chatted about this and that for a couple of hours.  Now it's nearly dinner time and I'm hoping for another early night.  I'd like to turn into an early bird if I can.   Well an earlier bird at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.