McArthur Island in Smoke

It is the close view
today as smoke hazes our
city once again

~ carliewired

Yesterday, about 4:30 PM, I looked up to see my room's light suddenly turn to orange. It was as if someone had turned on a light switch. I went out on my deck to photograph my mountains. The sky was orange. Along the deck there were burnt pine needles and fly ash. 

Later, a brisk wind came up and overnight we've had some sprinkling of rain. 

It has cooled considerably overnight. We are promised a few showers today with a high of 24 C. Our air quality remains very poor with 10+ (very high risk)

I made a very quick trip to McArthur Island Park. I was not very hopeful about photos but to my great surprise and delight a handsome buck appeared. I tracked him along the edge of the slough. He sniffed the exercise equipment, sampled the vegetation and paused to listen to sudden noises. He paid no mind to me in my little red bomber. 

I parked by the Butterfly Garden to get a shot of the bridge over the slough. I took some photos of the flowers there still wet. I noted the eerie red sun above the trees. 

I picked up my breakfast at the drive-thru and was back in my recliner by 7 AM. It will definitely be an inside day for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.