Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Drowning your Sorrows - or Trusting in God?

On a wet, windy and miserable day, I met up with Tom, Paul and Mike to have a farewell coffee in our beachside coffee shop. We didn't have to worry about finding a seat - on a day like today there were plenty to choose from!

This is my friend, Tom, searching today's paper to see what yesterday's Budget has done for him.

I'm not particularly worried about the Budget, as long as I have enough to live on, and besides which, as a Christian, I believe that God will provide for my needs - and not my "wants" - as a friend once told me.

The financial rewards of being retired are not great, and I doubt the Budget helps my husband and me that much, but we have a roof over our heads, a warm home, food on the table, a wonderful family, good friends and we have each other, so what more could we possibly want?

The Bible reminds us, in the Sermon on the Mount :

"Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don't get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes."
Matthew 6:34
The Message


Let's enjoy today and be confident that God will be there for us today, tomorrow and for the rest of our lives, in every circumstance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.