Museum of London

I drove up to London yesterday evening to go to our photo society meeting. From the balcony of our flat there was a terrific noise, which was coming from these men working on the roof of the old Smithfield Poultry Market.  This building is a 1961/2 rebuild of the original Victorian building which was destroyed in a fire in 1958.  Its roof is claimed to be the largest concrete shell structure ever built.

I couldn't make out whether the men were pressure washing or shot blasting, but I am glad that they were wearing ear defenders.  I don't know what the smoking wheel barrow is about.  I'm delighted that the project to convert the derelict market buildings into the new Museum of London is still going ahead, despite the issues of the last 18 months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.