Carolina's journal

By Carolina

History

History is the Theme for the wide Wednesday set by RockArea.   Joe and I will be going to Vashon Island tomorrow for Family Camp with our church so decided that a dry run was in order!   I know everyone always equates the Space Needle with Seattle, but my favorite is the Smith Tower( white pointed building towards the left)  It used to be inhabited by Petra Franklin Lahaie  and her daughter.  I saw a documentary on it some years ago and have always been intrigued by the building.  Smith Tower  this link will show you a shot inside.  you may be able to Google it and see more pictures.  
   It was built in 1914 and opened to the public on July 4 of that year.   It has 38 stories and  was the first skyscraper in Seattle and the tallest West of the Mississippi.   For 100 years it has remained the cultural icon of the city.  I imagine the views would be superb! A light shines from the top at night.   Now a days we go up to the top of the Bank of America building - just look for the black building and ask how to get to the top.  If you go near 4 pm it's half price and if you are Military you get a discount!  
   I will put the Rainier Brewer in the extras.  As far as I can tell it's 80 years old and you can live in one of the apartments!  Bank of America tower on the left.  Space Needle - cause people would be disappointed not to see it!!!
   Thanks for stopping by and I will post the results for MM later on.  I have whittled it down to about 18.  what a tough job!  I do so appreciate everyone who entered the challenge as it does take some work. 

The results are in for the Low Key MM challenge.   Many thanks to each of you that participated in the challenge!   
  Daring2Go
Moveableparts
Paulshelley
laurie54
Linxpix

The runner ups are as follows
FrankS
Trisharooni
DawnP
Miranda1008
Madowoi
      thanks so much for so many awesome shots!  and so hard to choose. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.