Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

MM: Low Key

I was determined to find something for today's mono Monday blip that only those who live in the Sonoran desert could get. You'll find saguaro in other places in the southwest, but they are native  to our desert.  I tried using the low key portrait mode on my iPhone for about 45 minutes to capture an entire line of these giants along the median on one of the quieter streets. Failure. So I settled for a close up of this one, transferred it to my computer and tried to work a little magic.  (That little section on the bottom hasn't been cloned in. Original an extra. ) Thanks to Carolina for hosting MM this month.

In the category of strange but true, I have a sinkhole in my backyard.  That's right, a SINKHOLE!   I know this sometimes happens to people with broken or leaking irrigation systems, but geez, mine is only a few months old.  It's been reset for the morning after I'm awake so I can see if it's gurgling. Right now its diameter is about 18 in/46 cm but it's pretty deep.  It goes quite nicely with my leaking windows.

I'm going around on my "making amends" tour.  Today, it was the ophthalmologist's office staff.  It doesn't usually change anything but it's something I first learned in AA and NA and I do it more than I'd like after a bipolar mood episode.  It's surprisingly difficult to do but people usually appreciate it.

Oh, for Pete's sake. It wasn't supposed to start raining until around 9 pm (95% chance) but it has just started, three hours early.  Can't wait to see how big the sinkhole is in the morning.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.