Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Madera Creek

What an amazing sound: the rushing waters of Madera Creek. I took a ride up there to say goodbye to the manager, someone I have known for years. This was supposed to be her last day. They’re moving to Vermont. Her husband is a Border Patrol agent and wanted to protect us from the Canadians rather than continue to work at our ’messy’ Arizona/Mexico border. Can’t blame him. It seems that yesterday was her last day.

It gave me a chance to wander through the raindrops, and with permission, meander to the overlook between casitas. It’s the best view of the creek other than the trail which runs next to it. I made a short video, too, so I can listen to it on demand. I’m not sure you can tell in the photo but to the left is a small waterfall. It’s been dry for 2-1/2 years. The bears have finally returned to their natural habitat well up into the mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.