Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Field of...

weeds Dreams

“This field, this game, it’s a part of our past, Ray. It reminds us of all that once was good, and it could be again.”
-from James Earl Jones speech in Field of Dreams

Last week Major League Baseball held their first ever Field of Dreams baseball game in honor of the 1989 classic movie.  It was held in Iowa, surrounded by corn fields.  The players came onto the baseball field from paths through the corn, just like the ghosts!  I loved that movie. Kevin Costner was there amongst the 8,000 lucky people present. It was a really neat thing to watch.

I realized today that I had my own "corn field" growing in my backyard!  They almost look like they could bear fruit but they are definitely weeds. No matter how often I pull these suckers out, they grow back, in exactly the same place.  So welcome to my personal field of dreams. 

I think I'm going to search for the movie now.

This is a back blip.  Make sure to check out the next blip of Madera Creek!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.