Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

It’s In The Mail

I'm writing this on Wednesday even though it is the Tuesday blip.

This collage is an homage to the mailbox the residents of the street have been using since the houses were built. The signs covering up the lovely USPS logo are announcing that this mailbox will be replaced within a couple of weeks so we can pick up our new keys at the post office.

There's seldom anything interesting happening in the neighborhood so this was a hot topic. Poor Claudio, our mail carrier. Every day this week someone was asking questions, none of which he could answer, of course. One (Trudy) even interrogated him on why it's not going to be closer to her house. I guess she's tired of walking. Try to follow this: Everyone on our (east) side of the street has to walk all the way to the corner on the opposite (west) side of the street. While the houses on the west side get to walk to the middle, but on the east side of the street.. What ticks Trudy off is the box for the west siders is next to her east side house. It's as if the post office has a vendetta agianst her.

Neighbor on the right and I had a grand time together picking up our keys and mocking (with love) the Trudy mailbox conspiracy theory. It doesn't make any sense but it's been like this for 23 years.

The two of us came up with our own anti-old person USPS consiracy theory when we picked up the keys. Our mailbox numbers changed!  Holy cow! I've been box 5 for fifteen years and she's been box 7 for twenty-three. Now she's 11 and I keep calling her to remind me what mine is. How dare they change our numbers! It's elder abuse.

....fast forward to the day I'm actully writing this (Wednesday).
They installed the new mailboxes today. How serendipitous it was for us to pick up our keys yesterday. But we now have something new to to cause outrage. There's no RED FLAG to put up to signify outgoing mail! Some of us were talking and we might secretly commission a handyman to make and attach one for us. It would ease our pain...
--------------------------
Today I went to the post office to mail 20 letters. So I bought 20 stamps.
The clerk just handed them to me. So I said "Am I supposed to stick all these on myself?"...and she said "No. Stick them on the envelopes."

I was in the Post Office queue yesterday when Diana Ross tried to push in.  I said “You can't hurry love, you'll just have to wait...”

I used to open so many cards on Valentines Day.
Eventually the post office fired me for it.

The preacher asked a small boy to show him the way to the post office and the boy courteously obliged.
"Thank you", the preacher said. "You are a bright and polite young man. How would you like to listen to my sermon this evening so that I may show you the way to Heaven?"

"You're going to show me the way to Heaven?" the boy said in astonishment."But you don't even know the way to the post office!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.