Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

The Day We Climbed the Moléson Mountain: Backblip

This mountain in the Pre-alps called the Molésan, overlooking the region of Gruyère in the canton of Fribourg. It stands at an altitude of 2002 metres/6568 feet.

The younger folk wanted to climb this mountain and wondered if I would like to join them or take the cogwheel train up to the height of the cable-car for the last steepest, rocky bit.  I like a personal challenge, so decided to walk with them! It was steep and rocky in many places and the going was not easy on this very hot day! It usually takes 1hr30, but we did it in 1h50 minutes with stops for picture-taking and breathers (for me!) I was so happy to have actually made it! We passed fields and cows with bells and wild flowers and stunning scenery. We did take the cable-car 5 minutes up the very last part. A wonderful experience!

Extras:
- My son, who kindly offered to carry my backpack as I was already carrying my heavy camera bag
- My son, his wife and my daughter. You can see the steep twisting roads behind us!
- The cable-car as we drew closer
-  One of the views from the top. It was a little misty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.