Another update.

Sorry, totally out of inspiration today - BUT - I suppose I can claim it's another "entry in the log"; representing the latest recruits/family members.
I have NO intentions of building a collection such as seen owned by members of an online group I haunt.  However I'm not averse to a few, since the bulk of my Clivias bit the dust last winter - no idea whether frost or merely drought/neglect.  
Thing is, just about the only affordable way to accumulate Clivias is to grow from seed. 
Consider the following:-
"A clivia plant is generally considered to be mature, and old enough to bloom, when it has produced 12 to 14 leaves. This can happen any time between two years of age for some of the newest Belgian strains, to over five years. Plants grown under intensive care, under cover, even in cold climates, can be expected to bloom significantly sooner than will plants grown outdoors in the garden in mild climates."
IF I bought now I'm looking at being 82 - 87 before any of them flower.  I'm not sure about that degree of optimism? Besides I still have one adult and one pup left.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.