The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Today I played at dry stone walling

CleanSteve did more strimming at the front and I cleared up after him and did some more ripping out brambles, then cleared the stones off the former hard standing. Steve will do more strimming tomorrow, I hope. I'd like to have a massive bonfire.

Work today was challenging. I'm glad we started packing up and sorting the store cupboard before lunch, because events overtook us.

At that time, I was doing arts and crafts in the courtyard with two students. I turned to assist one, and she'd started to have an epileptic seizure and was 'absent' and non-responsive. I had to hold her and yell "Emergency!" just like on First Aid courses, because I didn't have her meds. The leader came and administered the meds. That was good to observe because although I am trained in buccal midazolam administration, I've never had to do it, (one cannot practice on real people) and was pleased that I could remember important details. We had to call an ambulance, and the first team who arrived were not paramedics but first responders. The second lot were the real thing, so they could offer medical advice. Then Mum arrived. After about an hour, they all left. The girl was walking and talking and fully responsive by then. Phew. Meanwhile, as I was not in charge, but was a bit shaken, I took myself off to the kitchen to do a bit of stress-relieving cleaning and washing up, and to eat an emergency custard doughnut. What with CoVid, needing distraction from the death of our cat, and my occasional tendency towards OCD, I've never cleaned so much in my life as I have this week.

The next thing that happened was that we were told that one of the students' PAs, who was in yesterday, had since tested positive for CoVid. I don't even remember seeing this apparently young and handsome chap, so I'm sure I wasn't anywhere near him. I'll do a lateral flow test anyway. Why does this wretched CoVid contact thing always pop up right at the end of term? I guess CoVid doesn't discriminate.

I'm pleased to report that we managed to clear up and put away EVERYTHING before 3.30. We shared out all the thank you chocolates, and got away on time. This has never, ever happened before on the final day of a playscheme. Hurrah. Oh, and the paramedics complimented the manager on the professionalism of her team. Double hurrah.

I haven't even mentioned the wasps' nest on the playground, have I? The handyman got stung, but we managed to keep the students away from it.

Came home, had a cup of tea. Found out via phone conversations that not one, not two, but three people I know have cancer. The youngest is 48. The world feels extra crazy.. GG has not had success with having her wrist plaster removed. Her wrist bones have set wrongly, and will.probably have to be broken and re-set. She was most upset and frustrated by that, understandably. I told her not to cancel Netflix just yet, but we decided we'd try going for walks again when I return from Scotland. She's been spending too much time in bed being miserable.

All in all, doing a bit of hard labour on the garden was light relief. Thank goodness not every day is quite as exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.