Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I continued with my journal/book cover today. Pleased with the result so far, but not done yet. I'm thinking of doing some sculpting in modelling paste, a tree... because it's a forest journal, and it fits the part of a rice paper I've decoupaged on. Fingers crossed it'll come out as I want. My first plan was to see if I had a stencil that fitted the 'theme', but I didn't. Then I looked online for some inspiration and perhaps buying a stencil. But, in the end I thought perhaps try modelling paste and 'build' my own tree. 

I'm in a aquarelle, acrylic, ceramic and other artforms - group on Fb and since I've seen one or two photos there, I uploaded one with the theme 'harvest'. When I discussed this group with a good friend of mine, she said that it was mainly hand made art this group was focused on. I wanted to hear her opinion about what can be called 'art' and if a modified photo with no explanation, can be called a painted piece and 'art'. My personal view is that as long as you're transparent about how this 'art' is made, there're no problems what so ever... but, when you're sneaky and post something without explanation (that clearly isn't made with a brush in your hand) just to get likes and admiration for your artistic ability... then I'm put off. I did comment one of the photos, clearly made in PS with the filter Oil Paint, asking about the technique. I actually asked Oil Paint? with can be oil paint, too... ;) but got a not so polite comment from some random person in the group just telling me that it's (the 'painting') in this group. First she wrote aquarelle group and I got confused because I saw that it was in the other group, and then she just edited her answer and wrote that she changed the name of the group, but with no other explanations... I smell a rat... and when I smell a rat I go digging... so I wrote back Yes, precisely, and said I was curious about the technique used since I'm new to painting. I haven't gotten an answer yet, and the other member keep posting modified photos of leaves... 

The blip is of my try to paint a copy of the photo I uploaded in the group. I thought I'd give it a try, and...no, it's not done yet. I still have things to fix. Who knew Dahlias were so difficult to paint!! :D I'm having fun, though. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.