Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Willow

Another artwork in the 'Canal Encounters' project that's running along the Forth and Clyde Canal between the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies during August 

On Monday I blipped a creation called Canal Dreams by David Powell which was situated at the Wheel. This afternoon I drove over to the Kelpies to visit The Water Clock (main photo plus extra), also by David Powell. There are another two art installations at the Wheel, and which I saw today, as well as those  along the towpath which I have yet to visit.

As one might guess from the extra, The Water Clock is a giant sundial created from willow in the shape of water droplets. Inside each droplet the artwork depicts some wildlife seen along the Canal. No sun around during my visit this afternoon, instead it was a light but steady drizzle. I did see a real swan or two, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.