Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

It's a Wall!

Yes, that's Hadrian's Wall, although the line of the wall does not pass through this village. Hadrian's Wall is further north by a good mile.

This is a pretty village with a houses clustered around a village green and a pump. It has a pub and a garage (for repairs) but no shops or other amenities.

Someone takes good care of this road sign so I thought I would share it with you.

I managed a short walk this afternoon. I haven't been out walking for almost 2 weeks and my level of fitness has plummeted dramatically. I should have been on the exercise bike while I was at home. Too late to say that now.

After a short circuit on Fallowfield Fell, I went by car to see Jenny and Dennis who live further down the village of Wall. They have been great walkers in their time. Today they sat surrounded by maps and guidebooks, reliving the long treks they have done. I saw the book for the Rob Roy Trail, the West Highland Way (rained every day) and the map for Everest base camp. Dennis was in his element, but mainly wanted to check if I had ever stayed in a bothy. No I haven't - he is a great fan of the bothy system.

Back home and Mum had had a visit from Lyn and then Margaret across the road came. I retreated for a quick nap! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.