Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

On top of the world!

Thankfully I woke up this morning feeling much better and back to normal. It seems it was just a 24 hour tummy bug, short lived but pretty vicious as I was so ill I am amazed I even managed to do a blip yesterday. I could not eat yesterday, and after 'losing' everything I ate the day before I felt very weak this morning but after breakfast was ready to do another hike. 

Today was hot and sunny, possibly the last very warm sunny day as the forecast for next week is cooler. We got the gondola up Madrisa mountain and walked down back to the village. The start of the walk is a little steep and initially I felt I had bitten off more than I could chew as I was struggling a bit still feeling rather weak, but as soon as we got to the descent I was fine. So here is Xena at the top of this walk with the village lying in the valley below. The heather was looking beautiful and you can get an idea of it in the extra photo. As we descended there were people picking mushrooms and also bilberries.

We have been planning a certain walk that we have never done before, it is rather long and steep but the attraction is the series of turquoise-green lakes up at the top of the mountains, set against a glacier. The colour of the water is due to glacial silt. Today's weather would have been ideal for the walk but we thought we would wait for Luke and Meriel to be with us for the walk, and they only arrived this afternoon. So after our hike today we went to the sports shop where you book the mini bus which drops you off at the starting point in one valley and then collects you from the other in a different valley. The only problem is the weather does not look good for tomorrow, with rain coming in at lunchtime. We have to be at the bus pickup point by 8.15am tomorrow, so hopefully we get most of the walk done while the weather is okay. Fingers crossed it all works out!

Tonight we are going out for supper and then when we get home we are making our packed lunches as there is no where to eat up on the mountain as we usually do on other walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.